New Zealand Symphony Orchestra presents:Peruvian conductor Miguel Harth-Bedoya


Program :

YOUNG Dance 
TCHAIKOVSKY Violin Concerto in D major
BERNSTEIN West Side Story: Symphonic Dances 
TCHAIKOVSKY Francesca da Rimini 

Miguel Harth-Bedoya Conductor
Nicola Benedetti Violin

While convalescing abroad, Tchaikovsky conceived his breathtaking Violin Concerto. The work was initially declared unplayable but has since become a cornerstone of the violin repertoire and a test for any soloist. It will quicken the heart in the hands of the exceptional Nicola Benedetti. 

Peruvian conductor Miguel Harth-Bedoya continues to explore our landscapes and our music. In his hands, Kenneth Young’s luscious and feisty Dance will enthral. 

Bernstein’s Symphonic Dances, extracted from the iconic West Side Story, continues the dance theme with music that is bold, vital and confrontationally modern. Bernstein’s score is filled with violence and passion – drama that is matched by Tchaikovsky’sFrancesca da Rimini.